Gluten-free pizza crust (aka cauliflower crust)

20 Apr

I always pay extra attention to gluten-free recipes that cross my radar. The truth is, I am just gluten intolerant, I don’t have an actual allergy or Celiac, and I don’t come close to living gluten-free. Beer alone disqualifies me from that label. But I like experimenting with gluten-free alternatives to find places in my diet where I can reduce gluten.

My (lovely, gorgeous, talented, kind, amazing, I could go on forever) friend Lauren pinned this recipe and the picture included was so irresistible I decided to make it for dinner tonight. You should go look at the photo on the original post, because it is much much prettier than anything I have to offer up. Also, Jeanine links to the recipe she adapted this from, which happens to be vegan, so check there if you want a vegan version.

The crust contains almond meal, ground cauliflower (top left and right in the photo), eggs, Parmesan cheese, garlic powder (bottom left to right in the photo), salt and pepper.

The recipe called for 3/4 C almond meal, but my dough was really wet so I would estimate I ended up using at least a cup. Even after that, it was still too wet to work like traditional dough. I formed it into a ball and used my fingered to press it out into a circle on the pan. That worked fine. Here’s how it looked before it went into the oven:

And here it is after baking for 15 minutes at 450 degrees (F):

For toppings I used smoked mozzarella, homemade pesto (thanks to Kyle’s efforts earlier this week), and sundried tomato spread. (You’ll note there are also red pepper flakes in the photo, but I decided to leave them off when I realized the tomato spread I got was already spicy.)

The final product was incredibly tasty. The dough actually puffed up a bit and had a springy quality to it that I was not expecting but that made it seem closer to pizza made with regular grain-based dough. In case you are curious, here’s what it looked like:

While certainly not exactly the same as traditional pizza, this recipe was quite satisfying. The crust has a nice, rich flavor and held up structurally. Plus, it’s hard to dislike anything covered in mozzarella. I’m currently debating whether I can justify having one more slice. Easier to do with such a healthy recipe!

2 Responses to “Gluten-free pizza crust (aka cauliflower crust)”

  1. Valerie (all mussed up) April 21, 2012 at 2:45 am #

    What a clever idea! *off to fetch cauliflower at the market*

  2. Lauren April 26, 2012 at 1:03 am #

    I love you. You are amazing. I was thinking about you when I pinned that recipe!

Thoughts for Food:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

